Momodora: Reverie Under the Moonlight

header

Steam Store Page 

Alrighty. So I picked up Momodora on the recommendation of a friend who said that it was like Dark Souls. Everyone knows how much I love Dark Souls so I figured why not. However, my friend did not seem to be very familiar with Dark Souls because when I played the game, it was Metroidvania. Which isn’t bad! I love Metroidvania games too! I was just sorta hoping for a 2D Dark Souls. No big deal. (You can, however, see the Dark Souls inspiration – there’s a boss fight in which the boss sets up a move by performing an action similar to placing resin on a blade)

So, Momodora: Reverie Under the Moonlight. What’s it about? You play Kaho, a priestess(?) that is going to the Queen to request aid for the village. It seems a plague has spread to this village and one would assume people are dying. The village seems to have no purpose in the game other than to be the motivation for Kaho to visit the Queen. Eh. But the plague has spread from the Queen’s castle, so one can only assume at some level or another the Queen is complicit in the spreading of the plague? You fight through mooks and bosses, collecting the four Great Souls crest fragments so you can challenge the final boss (Okay, little bit more Dark Souls in there). There’s really not much of an overarching story though I have some suspicions of story details. There’s this witch you find surrounded by cats. You get turned into a cat by a witch. Are the two witches connected? Are they the same witch? I do not know. They both definitely have dark hair and the witch you encounter (non-boss witch) is wearing a hat so we can’t see the antlers that would indicate a similarity to the boss witch.

Let’s talk about the good parts of the game. Beautiful aesthetic design. I guess that’s it, really. The music is okay and there’s a bit too much backtracking when you get the cat form. I found myself more enamoured with getting 100% map than beating the game itself. Though I got the ‘True End’ to the game, so that couldn’t have been too much of a bad thing. Thinking about it now, I guess that may have contributed to my ‘too much backtracking’ comment. It’s just so beautiful to see the entire map lit up though.

The game is short – I finished it in four hours. And I was dead on my feet for like two of those hours (I had come back from a ten mile walk). Kinda like being drunk? I don’t know, I don’t drink alcohol. The mechanics are pretty simple. Button to attack, you can chain attacks, button to roll, button to use active item, and a button to swap active items. You know the default Steam controls might not be ideal. The item switch and item use items are hit by different hands. If I were designing a game, I’d put them on the same hand.

One thing I noticed is that almost every enemy in the game appears to be female. The imps in the starting area, the things that march with flags, the little key keepers, the list goes on. And I am reasonably sure that every boss was a female. Let’s take a look at the names of the bosses.

  • Edea
  • Lubella
  • Frida
  • Lubella 2 – Electric Boogaloo
  • Heretical Arsonist
  • Fennel
  • Choir
  • Duchess Lupiar and Royal Huntress Magnolia
  • Queen

Edea looks female, Lubella REALLY looks female, Frida is a female name, the Arsonist looks pretty female (she even uses a whip as a weapon). Fennel wears a dress and a bow, Choir was definitely told to be Pardoner Fennel’s older sister. If Lupiar were male, he’d be called a Duke. If Magnolia were male, he’d be called a hunter. (By the way, I think Lupiar and Magnolia are supposed to be Ornstein and Smough for this game). And the Queen is obviously… the Queen. There are three minibosses – one is a huge brawler type, might be male. The second is a knight, can’t tell under the armor. But the third is like this flying devil thing and that one was very likely a female. In fact, the only noticeably male characters in the game are the coughing dead dude and the butler to the witch. Oh, and maybe the salesperson as well. I really don’t think anything was meant by any of this, I just found it an interesting observation.

This is supposedly the fourth Momodora game, why did I get this one? There’s a cat on the cover. Also I think it was on sale or it came with a bundle or something. Overall, it’s a nice game, but it’s not what I would consider $10 worthy (which is its Steam price at the time of writing). $5? Sure. $7? Maybe. I guess it really comes down to what you’re looking for. I wouldn’t say that this is a bad game, but it’s certainly no world smasher. It fills the space, it’s decent, it’s alright.

Artemis Hunt

Momodora: Reverie Under the Moonlight

2 thoughts on “Momodora: Reverie Under the Moonlight

What do you think?

